Another One Bites The Dust

I don’t know what is is about me and clubs, and sites, but they seem to be dropping like flies in my life for the past six months.  


I had joined this site back in April 2010 because I liked what the site was all about.  I started posting what then was a fledgling version of my fanfiction story and was getting great reviews.   I had no clue my little fanfiction story was going to balloon into a series.  I was slowly working towards the end when I was curtailed by NaNoWriMo.  


As soon as NaNoWriMo was over, I immediately got back on track and continued writing and post. On the first of January they (the powers that be at the site) decided to consolidate with another site combine members and start a new site.  Of course they had decided all of this before they let us know.  By the time we did find out, we had like five days to pack up and move.


That means signing up with the new site and moving your content from the old site to the new site.  That was a complete pain in the neck, but I managed to do it in record time.  A day!  Two days later I find out everyone was ordered to move back.  Why?  the old site had an extensive archive which they could not take with them, so it was better to stay there and renovate the old site.  So scurry back we did.  


Just as I was getting settled the political crap started up.  There was one particualr dog in the pack who decided to flex his muscle.  in the past when we worked on the site newsletter, we never needed his approval, now all of a sudden he needs to read everything before they are submitted and approve them.  For pities sake, this is just a fansite, not the New York Times or The Huffington Post!  


As a result, my editor quit on Monday, and I pulled up stakes a half hour ago.  I sent a letter of resignation and apology to my new Commander (in some clubs they use rank), i deleted my fanfiction and my profile. I guess all hell will break loose when they sign on later on today.  



I’m sick of these so-called fun activities getting out of hand and turning into a real pain in the neck.  I have enough drama in my life. . . . .


As Carly Simon sang:  “I haven’t got time for the pain”.


So Elvis left the building. . . . . . . . . . . . .





Leave a Reply

