A Writer Goes To The Doctors Office. . . . .

I went to the doctor’s office (clinic)today.  In order to get what is called a “walk in” appointment, one must sign in on a  “sign in sheet”, sit and wait until one is called.  


I signed in and sat, made myself comfy with my composition book and pen and began to write. I totally forgot about the time until I caught a chill and had to put on my jacket.  


I looked up at the clock and it was 1pm and I was the only one in the waiting room!  I decided that I had been there too darned long and was going to leave but decided to stop by the desk and see if they had called me.  Perhaps I just didn’t hear them call my name.  Hey, it happens. . . . .  


I was horrified to find that out of the twenty or so names listed on the sign in sheet, all were crossed out accept mine!  When I pointed out my name and asked the receptionist why she did not call me, her excuse was:  “I couldn’t read your hand writing so I couldn’t call you.”  


What the heck?  
Have you ever heard something so stupid?  


I was so ticked that I wanted to leave, but instead I asked to speak to her supervisor.  When the supervisor came over, she was horrified to hear her subordinate make such a lame excuse for not calling a patient.  She apologized up and down and offered to put me in to see the doctor right away.  I refused because I was, tired, achy, cold, too sick to sit there another second. All I wanted to do was go home and crawl back in bed.  So, she gave me an appointment for the next day.  


I told the supervisor that I worked with customer relations also.  My standard approach is, if I see someone sitting in the waiting area for a long time, I approach them and ask if they are being helped. If not, I help them or get them help immediately.  There is no way a person should be left sitting in the waiting room for two hours, just because their handwriting was illegible.


That was a very lame excuse and the receptionist’s actions were totally unprofessional.  Were it me, at my job, I would’ve been written up and possibly suspended.  I don’t want to see anyone lose their job, but when you work with the public, especially when dealing with “the public in distress” (victims of crime or sick) you must maintain a high level of decorum.  


I admit, I am partially to blame for this mess.  Had I not been scribbling away in my notebook, I would’ve noticed I’d been waiting an inordinately long time.  Ah well. . . . . 






One comment on “A Writer Goes To The Doctors Office. . . . .

Leave a Reply

