Cat Poetry

These are poems dedicated to my cats Biscuit and Spiral.  
Most are Free Verse as I attempted to make them as visual as possible.
Computer Kitty
Computer Kitty
What do you want?
Can’t you see I’m busy?
I’ve just clicked on Firefox!
Computer Kitty
I know you’re thereI feel your warm,
furry body slinking through my legs
Rubbing your head on my toes
trying to steal my slipper
Computer Kitty
I see you
Standing on your hind paws
Looking at the screen
Are you ordering stufffor me?
Yum-yum treats ora nice new bed?
Computer Kitty
I’m just reading my e-mail
I’m just updating my blog
I’m just checking my bank
account and paying  my bills
Computer Kitty
I’ll have a treat for you
when I sign off.
* * * * * * * * * * * *
Purr
A soft and comforting sound
A wonderful for the ear to hear
Comforting for the
hands to feel
Tell me my
feline companion 
Is purring as comforting to you
as it is to me?
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Quietly
You slip in
Through an open door
Seen but unheard
You make your presence known.
By rubbing head and body against
my leg
whipping you long fluffy tail
against my calf.
When I don’t pay heed
You escalate yourassault
By rubbing your head
against my foot
and kissing my toes.
What is it you want this time
my furry friend?
* * * * * * * * * * * * * *
I Hear You
Yeeeoool!
Shush cat!
Surely you jest!
It’s 400am!
It’s too early tobe hungry!
Meoooowww!
I know,
you’re happy to see me?
I’m happy to see you too!
Yaaaah!
No! 
I can’t come out to play!
I’m trying to sleep!
Woooohhh!
What’s wrong with you?
You hardly everspeak!
Squeak!
What a small voice
For such a bigcat!
Waaahhh!
Yes, I’m glad you are delighted
with that new,
comfy spot you’ve found!
Puurrrrrrr!
Yes,
I loveyou too!
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
A Cat’s Whiskers
Long and stiff
What are they for?
They tickle my legs
as you walk by
They give you a wise look
As you peer into
my eyes.
You pull them back
 when I touch them.
I’m sorry, are they
that sensitive?
But, I am fascinated by them
So, while you explore
I will watchto find out
Why you need whiskers.
* * * * * * * * * *
Lord, Bless The Cat
Dear Lord,
I thank you for the Cat
Whether they are slim or fat.
If lazy or spry
If ‘pon their back they do lye.
Thank you for the smile they always sport.
Though they feel nothing
of a sort.
With string or bottle cap fascinated be.
While I sit and sip
my honeyed green tea.
‘Round my leg they do curl
Saying “give me attention
you silly girl.”
My feet and toes they do kiss.
Telling me it’s me they miss.
‘Round my legs on two hind paws they do dance.
Knowing I’m to feed
them in advance
Using their meows and
yowlsReminding me,
they too can use vowels.
Their alert, bright eyes flash
their long whiskers wave.
Letting me know
My comp’ny they do crave
To stalk,
to leap,
to play
Whether it be a fly,
moth or each other
they are a delight to watch.
For loving me
and insisting I love them.
Thank you, Lord for the cat.
By dawnskyy Posted in cats

Leave a Reply

