Buyer & User Beware!

I usually don’t make it my habit to do product reviews, but I find that I must in this case.


The product I’ll be mentioning here is Sketchers Shape Ups. The best way I can describe them is, those funny looking sneakers and shoes that rock – see below photo.  


They are supposed to help shape and tone one’s legs, butt and supposedly the rest of one’s body by just walking.  I’m an avid jogger and race walker, but wanted something that would give me an additional boost while I did everyday walking at work, or on errands.


I started wearing my Sketchers back in August 2010 and back then I had no problems wearing them.  But, all of a sudden last year, about September or October, I started to experience very bad pain in my knees.  It had gotten to the point where it was difficult for me to sit and stand, walk up and down steps and regrettably I had to discontinue running!  I could power walk, but I could not run anymore.


I went to my doctor and her diagnosis was that I had developed arthritis in my knees, and there was nothing I could do about it!  This was devastating news, as I am only 56, what the heck will happen to me when I’m 80?  Will I be a complete invalid?  


It is just by chance that I didn’t wear my Sketchers for a couple of days (remember I had worn them non stop for nearly two years) and I noted the severe pain had lessened.  When I put them back on, the pain came charging back.  So about three weeks ago, I took my Sketchers Shape Ups off for the final time.


And guess what?  I started jogging and running again with NO PAIN! I am able to sit and stand  WITHOUT PAIN!  I walk up and down steps with a tiny bit of discomfort, nothing like what I had before!  Obviously, it was the shoes that were the culprit.


This is why I decided to post this entry, in the hopes that others would be warned away from this product.  Sketchers Shape Ups promote that they are designed to promote weight loss, improve posture and tone muscles. In short, they are a miracle cure for people who don’t want to spend time in a gym, or for people like me who wanted a little extra toning here and there.


Unfortunately, there were no warnings about aggravating pre-existing conditions or causing harm.  But there should be.  I’m not a doctor or anything like that, but I strongly advise, buyer and user BEWARE!









Leave a Reply

