Hey, This is Fun! For Now. . . . . .

I’ve been getting my “Knight Riders” edits back from my beta regularly now.  Chapter by chapter.  My poor beta bless their little heart, I don’t want to overwhelm them.  So, I am allowing them to go at their own pace.  


But, amazingly, I’m having a lot of fun reading over the changes they suggested and made.  


My Beta was nice enough to tell me “Nanci, you are going to need others to read and critique this, as I can only correct spelling and grammer, etc.  You will need someone to read Knight Riders and critique it for character placement and chapter flow.”  In other words, what they meant was, I’m going to need more “eyes” on my story.  


Wasn’t that wonderfully honest and straightforward of them?  Yet I cringe. . . .


I have two problems with that suggestion.  Number one, I’m still holding my story close to my breast like a mother protectively clutching an infant.  I really don’t want anyone else to see or read it.  Which is utterly absurd because if others don’t read it and critique it, how will I know if “The Knight Riders” is good enough to publish, and importantly, sell?  


Also, there is the money issue. Rather MY money issue. My beta agreed to help me without cost.  We’ve known each other for a while, in fact we had worked together regularly.  I’ve helped them with computer issues, so this beta was in exchange “one kindness for another”.   


In reality, I am just a poor working stiff living from paycheck to paycheck. As my late Mom would say: “One paycheck away from my walking papers.”  I’m wondering who else, or how. . . . . . 


Thankfully, that bridge will be have to crossed later.  One thing at a time, Nanci.  One thing at a time.  Sigh. . . .





                          NYC’s Brooklyn Bridge 
                              Taken by Me    





By dawnskyy Posted in beta

Leave a Reply

