KISS

No, this post has absolutely nothing to do with the rock group by that name, or the romantic activity of  . . . . ehem . . . . . “swapping spit”.  


This term which is actually a military acronym spelled K.I.S.S.  I’ve got good friends who are Marines who use this term constantly.  In short it is an  acronym (and the military LOVES acronyms) for Keep It Simple Stupid.  In other words:  “Don’t make things more complicated than they are supposed to be.”  Why?  Because you will confuse others, and most definitely you will confuse yourself! 


I must apply this to my own personal life because as a member of the human race, my life can become very complicated.  Most of the times, when I sit back and examine my life to find out why it is so complicated, it’s due to Bravo Sierra (another military acronym for Bull Shyte  . . . .cough. . . . .  excuse me).  Stuff that I don’t need to be involved in, and wouldn’t miss if I dropped kicked out of my life.


My late Mom used to have a phrase she named “house cleaning”.  Instead of New Year’s Resolutions, the day before New Years, she tossed out all of her ( and our) trash, and started afresh in the New Year.  Can you imagine how much trash builds up during the course of an entire year?  Cheese Louise!  


My Mom was a minimalist and didn’t believe in keeping a whole lot of junk around.  If something didn’t have a specific place or purpose, out it went!  Me, I’m on the other side of the spectrum.  I’m a HOARDER, and many times I accumulate physical as well as emotional/spiritual clutter.  Solution?  I must “house clean” often, and I must not spare the trash, even though it is cute and cuddly.  Sentimentality is not allowed!


I  throw out emotional stuff the same way I toss out physical crap.  I’ve found out that once I do, life becomes much less complicated.  Why?  Because I’ve rid myself of the unnecessary drama.  


Oh-oh, what are you talking about Nanci?


Remember that so-called  “mystery website” and the complications stemming from it?  Well, I made the official move Sunday (06/04/2012) evening and deleted the site.  I also didn’t tell ZaZa a thing.  As a matter of fact, I’ve even blocked her number on my phone, which thereby prevents a round of frantic calls asking who, what, where, when and why. 


I’m now sitting back and waiting for the Kimshee to hit the fan.  Some may say I’m spoiling for a fight.  Believe you me I’m not.  However, sometimes this is the consequence of taking a stand and protecting your turf.  Like Bob Marley sings, “You gotta stand up for your rights!”  In my opinion, it’s worth it.  It is a joy to finally put this foolishness to rest, period!  


Now, if ZaZa really wants a website, she is now free to pester someone else.  My door is forever closed in that matter!  


I say all of this to warn you that there are people and things like that out there.   As if your personal/business life is not complicated enough, here comes something else to not only side track you, but send you off on a wild goose chase.  Those things you don’t need!  


You must take stock of your personal/business life and determine what is needed and what is not.  It’s sad, but some times you have to toss friends and loved ones out because they are “leeches”.  But, you must do this in order to maintain order and harmony in your own life.  


The military has a way of referring to things in an impolite manner and KISS is one of the milder ones.  But, it certainly gets the point across.  


Keep It Simple Stupid, so you can maintain your sanity.


Love and Peace.


P.S.  No, I’m not a therapist, nor do I play one on television, radio, or the internet.  But I’ve been “there and done that”, and have the battle scars to prove it.   I just want to warn those who come after me, where the mines are in the minefield.  So yous (with a New York City accent) don’t don’t have to be blown up like I did. 











Leave a Reply

