Ding Dong The Witch is Dead

The real title was:  “Another One Bites The Dust.”  But, it seems like I’m always using that title.  As a writer, I’ve simply got to be more original, so I changed it to  “Ding Dong The Witch is Dead.”. . . . . . .  


You know the rest of that song . . . .


Like that was original. . . . . . . . .


Well, it’s been two weeks since I took down the so called “mystery website”.  Because, I was ill and had to stay home a week, then ZaZa took off a couple of days, we didn’t see each other for two weeks.


When I did see her this weekend, she didn’t speak to me for the entire morning.  Some of you may read this and be greatly disturbed, but I was not.  I was able to do my work in peace without being harassed.  After all, I was hired to do my work, not to get mixed up in a whole lot of “manufactured” non-work related drama.  


Now that I look back upon “the incident” admittedly it was a horrible experience, but I learned some very valuable lessons from it.  It seems that we as human beings have a tendency to learn the best lessons when things like this occur. 


I learned that from now on I must keep things strictly on a professional basis with ZaZa.  


Oh don’t get me wrong.  It’s nice to be friendly with your co-workers and (during the down time) kick back and discuss family, hobbies, and the like.  However, when a co-worker goes out of their way to use your personal information to destroy you, that’s when you set up the Road Block/Check Point Charlie (a military checkpoint – to those who are not in the know)!  That is also when you give the person the “heave ho” (you don’t belong here, so get out, and stay out!) and put your life on lock down when it comes to them. 


So the “silent treatment” is not going to move me.  It may because I’m a writer, but I’m totally in my element working in silence and by myself.  That also comes from working the midnight shift for the past 18 years.  There are times where “nobody’s” there, and I find that’s when I work best.  


Unfortunately, I don’t believe ZaZa will keep her silence for long.  If and when she does approach me I will let her know that I prefer to keep our relationship on a professional level. From that point on I couldn’t care less if she never speaks to me again.  I’m not there to make friends or win a popularity contest.  I’m there to work, period. 


This may sound cold, but I have a friend who is a manager of a well-known bank who told me that I am doing the right thing.  “This is how you keep “is-am and schism” out of the workplace.” they said.  


According to my friend 90% of the crap that happens in the workplace is due to “familiarity”.  In the military the term would be “fraternization”.  The bottom line is it affects the workplace and productivity.  Now you have security issues and legal issues, sexual harassment, violation of EEO laws, etc.  All kinds of crap is going on when in reality, people are supposed to be doing the jobs they were hired for, not bein’ up in otha people’s biss-niz.”


In the Bible (1 Corinthians 11:22-26 – “The Message” Version), the last three words are “Familiarity breeds contempt.”  Which means you have become so comfortable or so friendly with the person or circumstances that you no longer have any respect for them or it. In this passage Paul was talking about the Lord’s Supper becoming a drunk fest and gluttony contest.


When familiarity happens, you think it’s alright to treat people (or circumstances) any old way you want to.  This attitude is the main source of insubordination in the workplace.  And let us not forget the reverse where supervisors are inhumane to and do not respect their subordinates. . . . .


My friend also advised me to document if and when I inform ZaZa of my request, and from then on each time she violates it.  Why? To C.Y.B. should an even larger issue arise and I need documentation.  


It’s amazing how this post started out light hearted and wound up being as serious as a heart attack. . . . . . .





Leave a Reply

