VBT – My Special Inspiration

The MasterKoda Facebook group blog tour is at the half-way mark. we are  grateful to have you join us as we discuss the topic: “What was the inspiration for the novel you are writing?”  K.D. Emerson shares a more personal side of her life. Not something you will see very often.

My inspiration comes in so many forms, a thought, a song, a look, a moment.

In this case my work in progress, the young adult Digitus series, comes from my life experiences (and the wisdom/or lack thereof that they created). There were some reoccurring themes that wound themselves throughout my life. At times I became entangled in them until I finally broke free and am now looking at those topics from a victor’s platform. The main themes of my upcoming novel Digitus 233 are captivity versus freedom, mind control versus free choice, and victim versus victory. Although serious writing on this work started this past May I have had the story and outline in my mind for many years.

The book explores what it feels like to be victimized; to be held captive on foreign soil, to have your mind controlled by something other than your own true self. Although these seem like heavy subjects for a young adult novel I feel it is an important story for today’s future leaders as they weigh out important choices in a society that would lead them to believe there is no real hope.

In its simplest form the Digitus Series it is the story of victory over evil.

Digitus 233 is a fast paced, on-the-edge-of-your-seat thriller that keeps the action coming and the people real. The five main characters must learn to trust and rely on each other in order to endure the extreme tests they face, the first of which is survival on an arctic island with nothing but the clothes on their backs.

To experience a scene from Digitus 233 you can go here: http://debrajayneeast.blogspot.com/2012/07/special-guest-kd-emerson-shares-her.html

Thanks to all of you for taking time out of your schedules to visit me. I would love to hear what inspires you to greater living? What person has been an example? What piece of art or music brings you joy and makes you want to get up and dance?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Author, KD Emerson was born (or is that hatched) several years ago. We won’t go into how long it has been because she has this fantasy that she is still a teenager off to conquer the world. She has a passion for the written word and assisting other writers in becoming the best they can be. She also loves to promote others and cheer them on to victory. Follow her on twitter @MstrKoda or you can find her at www.masterkoda.com and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/kimmutch.emerson

Thank you so much Kim, for stopping by, opening up, and revealing a very personal side of yourself.  This  helps to give courage who others who need to do the same, and a remind us who already do that we should not stop.

Want to know what inspired Amadi Kyymm’s first book?  Please click the following link to Natalie Star’s Blog and find out!

 http://authornataliestar.blogspot.com/2012/07/oh-that-book-amadi-kyymm.html

 

 


16 comments on “VBT – My Special Inspiration

  1. Kim,

    What an interesting post. I love the premise of the book and feel that it is vital to our teenagers to get this message as there are so many out there who would gladly control them in many ways.

    I’m intrigued by your question…what inspires me to greater living…I find it challenging to answer. I have channeled that inspiration into my book character, Bertha…but as for the source of it…I’d have to say that it is simply the spiritual part of me…that ever aspires to be all that I can be…

    • Great response Jane! I feel that when a person is inspired by their greater self, their true and authentic self that it shines through their writing. In your case this is so true! I love Bertha Size Your Life! One of the most uplifting and inspirational reads of today.

      Blessings to you,
      Kim (KD Emerson)

  2. Wonderful Kim! You are an inspiration to me. I have known you for many years (though you are really just a teen at heart) and have wanted to emulate my life after yours. You always find humor and hope within any and all things that life has brought you. You are a victor, not just a survivor. You bring hope, healing and laughter to all who know you. I will always be a huge fan of yours and will always be your true friend! Love you chickie!! Tamy 🙂

  3. Loved it Kim!! 😀 It’s hard to open up on the internet sometimes, though for me I find it easier then in person.
    I think we all recurring themes we can’t break free from, and when you finally do you feel so victorious like your life has started again!! 😀
    I believe I felt this way briefly after my bf dumped me….then I sank into depression
    😛
    I hope to someday break free of my chains and of my people controlling me like the kids from your book! 😀

    • Sian,

      Thanks honey bunny. Keep on keeping on girl. You will rise victorious and stand on the victor’s platform with me!

      Kim (KD Emerson)

  4. I will always believe that even tragedy with the right attitude can be a stimulus for powerful change in our lives and others. This book will be made into a movie one day. I believe we will be able to say I knew you when…

    • Ah Debra,

      You always have the ability to bring tears to my eyes. Thank you.

      I feel tragedy often times creates the most powerful change. When tragedy is profound enough I call it the dark night of the soul. During those times in people’s lives they have the ability to choose a direction of deep healing or distruction. As for me, I choose healing and victory and it is my most heart felt prayer that I can inspire others to choose that road as well.

      Be well my friend,
      Kim (KD Emerson)

Leave a Reply

