My Facebook War

Everyone knows Facebook and me, “Don’t break bread.” This simply means, “We don’t get along.” Why? After all everyone and their grandmother uses Facebook. . . . . . 

The straight fact is I use Facebook to keep in touch with friends and family, members of my church, and most recently with writing groups I’m a part of. I’m not one of those Face book game addicts (except for Scrabble). I have a third party application which prevents me from being able to participate in certain Face book games on purpose. Why? Some of them are SPAM. . . . . .

It seems that Face book and I are always at war. Because I’m a Geek, I always know when they roll out updates, which to me are downgrades. Face book used to update regularly every week on a Tuesday. So, if you used it Monday, skipped Tuesday and signed back on a Wednesday you got a nasty surprise. However, I’ve heard they have stepped up their updates to SEVERAL times a week.

I subscribe to several GEEK e-news newsletters which I receive several times a week (Lifehacker and Sophos), and the GEEK community is on Face book like white on rice with the crazy and dictator like updates. 
Two of the latest were: Updating your profile to make your email address public. This action horrified many. Suppose you are on Facebook and don’t want your email address to be public? I certainly didn’t! Supposedly this part of Face books new policy of total exposure. But, suppose you have someone you don’t want to communicate with? A stalker? Now Face book in the name of creating a more friendly environment has made it unsafe for many users.

Lifehacker published a newsletter telling all geeks, and would be geeks. how to disable this latest Facebook horror. Many found to their disgust, that they COULD NOT DISABLE it! The power mad geeks at Face book have wised up. They know there is a geek community who is close knit and are dedicated to undoing their dastardly deeds, so they’ve now made these changes impossible to disable or undo.

This seems to be standard practice, because another horror has raised it’s ugly head. Remember that public email, that you couldn’t deactivate? Well, as of last week (I noticed it on 08/31/2012 – Friday), that the email I’d listed for Face book has been getting SPAMMED with a gazillion Face book emails!

Did I ask for this? Of course not! Like everything else, my email address is used for strictly business and personal use. I don’t care to receive an email every time one of my friends on Face book picks his or her teeth, scratches their head, or passes wind! Sorry folks, but I have more important things to do. . . . . Like REAL LIFE!

Thoroughly ticked I had to delet 78, that’s right 78, Face book emails! Then I went back to my account settings and found that my email feature had been turned “on”, after I had turned it OFF years ago! So I went about shutting everything down except for messages me. Of course, The Geek Warrior Princess gave herself a tremendous pat on the back for a deed well done.

However, when I arrived at work (I work midnights) and checked my emails, I found much to my chagrin and utter dismay, 75 more Facebook emails! Hey wait a minute! Didn’t I just turn that darned thing off? Then why is my email still being bombarded with this foolishness?

I lamented my dilemma in my status and several friends responded. Apparently, I’m not the only one who noticed. Nor am I the only one who noticed that Face book is preventing us from circumventing their latest debacle! In essence, my friends said you can’t change it so you have to put up and shut up. That is exactly what Face book is expecting all of it’s users to do.
Well, not me! Psssst! There is a way to do it. As a Geek Warrior Princess, I possess SEVERAL email addresses, like spies, I only use them for . . .ehem. . . “clandestine” purposes.

I thought I was unable to properly deactivate the email feature because I’d done everything on my smartphone. So, I again made my assault via my laptop. It didn’t work, because apparently, Facebook has you on lockdown if you only have ONE email address listed. If you add another one or two addresses you can switch up where you want all of that junk sent, if you don’t want it piling up on your main email address.

Side Note: Mail.com is an excellent free email site in order to do this. Once you establish an account, you are allowed to have 10 (ten) different customized email addresses on your account! So you can effectively set up a “cut out” account there and let Facebook spam that account to it’s desire without clogging up your personal/business account. The site is a bit tricky to use, in comparison to Google/GMail, but it’s worth the hassle once it’s set up. And just in case you want to check your emails, Mail.com has apps for smart phones and i-pads. . . . . .

Now, back to the story.

I so simply went back to “Account Settings” added the new “cut out” email addy. I then confirmed it, then clicked the “cut out address” as my “primary email address! Now, if Facebook wants to bombard me with crap, they can go to town, but it won’t be on my main email addy/address!

I will also inform my Face book friends if they need to message me, don’t send it through Face book’s messaging system. Send an email, to my “correct” email address, of course.

I’m just totally amazed how Face book over the years has turned me from being a Luddite into a first class hacker. Funny thing, I’m not the only one. Sadly, you must do these things in order to protect your account, your privacy, and your sanity . . . . .

A pox be upon you, Face book!  

* * * * * * * * * *

PS.  The method I described above may actually detrimental to you if you have cross linked platforms.   Say if you have your Google account linked to your Facebook as well as your WordPress.  You might wind up losing followers.  I’ve found, If you have a Google account (GMail) it is best to go into your GMail account settings and create a filter with the word FACEBOOK.  That way you can tell Gmail to DELETE all of those annoying emails before they even get to you.  However, you MUST warn your friends to email you directly instead of sending Facebook messages.  Or just make it a habit to check your facebook page several times a day to see if you get anything.  This is infinitely preferable to receiving tons of SPAM any day!

Leave a Reply

