What Do You Write When You Feel Blah?

What Do You Write When You Feel Blah?

I‘ve been feeling blah for the past few weeks. It hits me every year about this time. When the seasons change from Summer to Fall, as I watch the days grow shorter, the leaves fall, and feel the temperature drop. All I want to do is curl up in bed and hibernate.

The psychiatrists have a term for this. It’s called Season Affective Disorder (SAD) and apparently many people suffer from it. This condition comes from the light deprivation which comes from shorter days and longer nights.

I’ve worked, the midnight shift for the past going on 19 years now. So I find it rather strange that I would suffer from a condition which affects “day walkers”. But, there is always an exception to the rule. Apparently I am “it” this time around.

You can read all about the symptoms and care here:
http://holisticonline.com/hol_sad.htm#Symptoms/

The only symptom I don’t have is the increased appetite. In fact I have very little appetite, but, I do suffer from the rest. My personal solution is to get out as much as possible. Even though I have a strong desire to become a hermitess. . . . . Yes, I made up that word.

Another problem I have is I don’t feel like writing much. Last year I was possessed by NaNo, so much so that I spent the entire Winter on what I had written that November. That was one wild and crazy ride and I promised never to do that again, unless of course after I’ve retired……….

I didn’t have plans to enter this year, because I already have enough unfinished projects on my plate. I happen to be obsessive about finishing one before starting another, as I also have a nasty tendency to forget what I don’t finish.

However, I believe NaNo2012 would be good therapy for me, even if I don’t win. It’s something which will keep me focused for the rest of the cold months until Spring.

Plus, it will keep me out of the doctors office. . . . . . .

Leave a Reply

